10th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics



First Circular

Dear Colleagues,

We would like to announce that the 10th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics will again take place at the village of Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, southeast of Salzburg, Austria. It will will take place from March 10 (arrival) to March 16 (departure) 2013. This school belongs to the European Network of Nuclear Astrophysics Schools (ENNAS), a network made by the four European schools on nuclear astrophysics and related areas (the Santa Tecla, the Sinaia, the Russbach and the Azarquiel schools). We shall limit the number of participants to about 60 to ensure a convivial atmosphere, and the possibility to share dinners between all participants.

Keeping its tradition, the school will bring together specialists from the various sub-fields of astrophysics, astronomy, cosmochemistry and nuclear physics with the aim to raise mutual interest and to teach under- and postgraduate students, young post-docs as well as senior scientists interested to be introduced to nuclear astrophysics. The school will be organized in major topical sessions, with dedicated time for basic introduction, presentations of the various aspects of the topic, and ample time for discussions and out-door activities in the Dachstein West mountain region. (see www.vistars.de, www.dachstein.net, www.russbach.info, www.russbach.info, www.vistars.de, <a h

Students/young researchers are encouraged to give oral presentations.

The expenses for the school, including half board (breakfast and dinner), will be of about 300 Euro per person in twin-room accommodation and about 350 Euro in a limited number of single rooms. In addition, we will ask for a modest registration fee of 150 Euro for senior scientists and post-docs, 80 Euro for PhD students. There will be no fee for undergraduate students.

The second circular will be sent at the beginning of December. At this time the preregistration will be opened. Meanwhile please note the date of the next Russbach school in your calendar.

The Scientific advisory committee of the Russbach workshop is composed of:

M. Busso (Perugia), R. Diehl (Munich), J. Duprat (Orsay), A. Frebel (MIT), S. Harrissopulos (Athens), A. Parikh (Barcelona), J. Margueron (Orsay), L. Mashonkina (Moscow), U. Ott (Mainz/Szombathely), J Pereira (MSU), R. Pizzone (Catane), F. Thielemann (Basel), J. Truran (Chicago/JINA), A. Zilges (Köln)

We are looking forward to meeting you in Russbach

The Organizers, K.-L. Kratz, O. Sorlin and S. Bishop